APPE Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl

Zoom screenshot announcing University of Cincinnati as champion of 2021 Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl

The Cincinnati Ethics Center sponsors the University of Cincinnati undergraduate Ethics Bowl team, established in 2020. In their inaugural competition the team won the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl (IEB) National Championship! You can read about their victory in the News Record and UC News.

IEB is an academic, tiered competition sponsored by the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics (APPE). Teams are given a set of ethics cases to study and research in advance. During the tournament, teams compete to give the most compelling analysis of each case and must respond to questions from an opposing team and a panel of judges. Teams compete in their regional tournaments each fall. The qualifying teams from each region then compete in the national tournament in spring.

UC’s team is drawn from students taking the course PHIL 3015: Ethics Bowl, offered by the Philosophy department in the College of Arts & Sciences. In this course students learn the main concepts and tools of ethical reasoning and how to apply these skills to analyze real-life cases. Students practice articulating their reasoning about cases, both verbally and in writing. They learn to work cooperatively in a team, to appreciate different points of view, and to think on your feet under pressure.  PHIL 3015 is typically offered each fall and again in spring if the team qualifies for the national championship.  Students with sophomore status or higher from any college or major can enroll in this 3 credit hour course; no prior experience with ethics is required. If you are interested in taking the course or have questions about joining the team, you can contact the team’s faculty advisor, Prof. Vanessa Carbonell, or the course instructor and team coach, philosophy doctoral student Daniel Mattox.

Course Description for PHIL 3015: Ethics Bowl

Fall 2020 Team Roster
2nd Place in the Central States Regional Ethics Bowl

Fabien Archer
James Kojo Baah
Emma Duhamel
Dom Duponty
Elisha Hampton
Claire James
Caitlin Powell
Mae Rosenthal
Sofia Thomas

Coach: Daniel Mattox

Spring 2021 Team Roster
IEB National Champions

Katherine Brocato
Emma Duhamel*
Dom Duponty*
Caitlin Powell*
Mae Rosenthal
Mike Schlott

Coach: Daniel Mattox

*denotes students who competed in the IEB National Championship

Zoom screenshot of UC student Emma Duhamel during final round of IBE
Emma Duhamel
Zoom screenshot of UC student Dom Duponty during final round of IBE
Dom Duponty
Zoom screenshot of UC student Caitlin Powell during final round of IBE
Caitlin Powell
Scroll to Top